Babe + Ruth Forever (Repost of My Guest Post at That Bully Yemi’s Place)


My best friend from fifth grade on was Ruth. We were inseparable friends, and competitors. She was very smart. (Her parents gave her ten dollars for every A, so she was motivated, too. 🙂 )
 
In sixth grade, our friendship was almost ended by a teacher’s innocent remark.
 
To find out what it was, and what happened after THAT, you’re just going to have to visit my friend Yemi’s place, where the full piece is posted.
 
Yemi Bunnies Small

HERE’S THE LINK


 
This, after Yemi flattered, and batted her eyes, and mentioned all the orphaned bunnies she was supporting (I think that was what she said), and then, when I kept saying honestly that I was too busy, Yemi finally threatened me physically!
 
Truly, I now fear for my very life, and have gone underground to escape the wrath of this vengeful woman and her rabid rabbits.
😦
 
Please, please go read the post over at Yemi’s place, to placate her and allow me return home. There is very little gluten-free foraging to be had in the hills of drought-stricken Los Angeles, and I have had to resort to nipping untouched sushi from emaciated models’ plates along the pricier avenues of the city.
 
Yemi Bunnies Small

HERE’S THE LINK–AGAIN.


 

AW-TOO-BADDENDUM

YOU CHEATED ME! (some of you baseball fans are thinking)
 
You feel cheated?! Why did you assume? There are plenty of Babes that have nothing to do with the Sultan of Swat! Here’s one:
Paul Bunyan and Babe the Blue Ox Bright Illustration
Here’s another one:
 

“When asked if there was anything she didn’t play, she answered: ‘Yeah, dolls.'”–ESPN.com, “Didrickson Was a Woman Ahead of Her Time”


And another:
 
The Bourbon Babe

The Bourbon Babe, Margie Samuels (In The Bourbon Hall of Fame–Top THAT.)


 
See? And pure coincidence the names Babe and Ruth fell next to each other like that in the post’s title.
😉
 
(Have you visited Yemi’s place yet? Even if you don’t read my post, you really should stop by her About page. Unique. Really. With her theme, it’s a little hard to spot. See if you can find it.)
 
Yemi Bunnies Small

HERE’S THE POST LINK AGAIN. FANCY THAT.


 
Once again, I’ve fallen behind in checking in on everyone else’s posts and in thanking my latest followers–I will try my best to catch up tomorrow and Monday, you guys. Just please sit on your typing hands while I do–okay? Thanks.
🙂

 


 

Leave a comment

20 Comments

  1. M-R

     /  2015/03/21

    Dunno why you ask: you know they won’t. [grin]

    Liked by 2 people

    Reply
    • That wasn’t me asking. I have been asleep for hours, as I am past exhausted and must get up early. I miss you and your place, Margaret-Rose. Or I would, were I awake.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
      • M-R

         /  2015/03/23

        Me too, Babe; but the technical complexities were becoming overmuch.

        Liked by 1 person

        Reply
        • Thank you so much Maggie, (I hope I can call you that?!) for scaling through those technical complexities and hurdles and coming on over against all odds, I appreciate lots and I shan’t forget! LOL

          Liked by 1 person

          Reply
          • Uh-oh… (standing WAY back) Ahem! Er… Yemi, it is Margaret-Rose, never Margaret, and thus, I am fairly confident, never Maggie.

            But I happen to know she ADORES Mags, so by all means, call her nothing but that from now on! (slinking away, twirling mustaches with e-vil backward glances of glee)

            Liked by 1 person

            Reply
            • Hahahahahaha! Why do you back away Mischief?! I oughta just take your word for it, but I shall allow for Margaret-Rose, to speak up for herself and back up those ‘claims’ of yours! How ’bout it?! Hmf! LMAO!

              Like

          • M-R

             /  2015/03/23

            NO ! – you may NOT ! AAAaarggh ! You may call me M-R; but ‘Maggie’ has never been an appellation that appeals.
            What I meant, Yemi, is that the private blog was fraught with technical problems …

            Liked by 1 person

            Reply
            • Aye aye M-R, I read you loud and clear, over and out! 😆

              Aw! Sorry ’bout those, but you finally did cross over the damn hurdles! Way to go! 👏😃

              And quit gloating Babe,
              so not cute!
              Hmph!👺

              Liked by 2 people

  2. I knew a Ruth at the end of our street when I was quite small. I thought her name was Roof.
    Then, as a grown up person, I had a friend Ruth whose friendship ended much like yours. Maybe it’s in the name. They’re not Ruth, they’re ruthless.
    That was a sad, sad story but please don’t pine because you’ve got much better friends around even if you’ve never seen them in the flesh.
    I won’t be posting until tomorrow or possibly Tuesday (which is practically Wednesday for you anyway) so breathe easy on my account.

    Liked by 3 people

    Reply
  3. I, too, am Ruth-less – that is, without Ruth after a very upsetting upset. Thanks for the link(s) -I’m off to read. Be well, soon.

    Liked by 2 people

    Reply
  4. My mother’s name was Ruth. Same thing.

    Liked by 2 people

    Reply
  5. I keep trying to click Like but it won’t let me. It’s my phone.

    Liked by 2 people

    Reply
    • Destroy that phone immediately in the most violent, painful way possible, Phil, and get one capable of making its proper obeisance to me, Me, ME!! (mad laughter rings out)

      Liked by 2 people

      Reply
  6. So, I’ve been pretty preoccupied and couldn’t make it here in the nick of time to put in a good word for myself! That said, Babe; I bullied you did I?! When?! How?! You know, I really didn’t take it to heart when you said you told a naughty lie, I mean; I’d honestly thought that was a gimmick but guess what I found?! eyes popping right outta their sockets You naughty, very NAUGHTY ‘lil nail filing minx you! Wait till I get my hands on you, there’ll be hell to pay and I kid you not! Can you tell?! raised eyebrow Hmph! ROTFLMAO!

    You’re unbelievable you know that doncha?! Thank you so much for this, and much more! I really lack the capacity to thank you enough for coming a lotta times through for me but know ye this…….you’re by far the absolute sweetest, the ‘bestest’ and your act of kindness totally did me in! You rock Phoenix, and don’t you EVER forget! Plus, Ruth who?! Who was that again?! Never mind, she really doesn’t matter in the grand scheme of things but YOU DO……she goofed, her loss, totally! Keep keeping on sweets, you’re the best there ever will be and you make so much sense, like we say where I come from! Peace and much love! LMAO!

    Liked by 2 people

    Reply
    • Nice try at CYA, girl, but your sweetness cover is blown! Hah!! (I, on the other hand, have never pretended to be sweet.)
      😈

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
      • Did someone just……coo?! I thought not! That was all me or was it?! tongue out

        What do you going on ’bout now O.B?! You know am sweet like that and beneath all of that ‘unsweetness’ of yours, likes a pretty cool, extremely sweet lady! Don’t fight it gurl, Its all you, in you and its mighty glaring too! In your face, HA! LOL

        Like

        Reply

Best comment wins prize! (sorry, i tell naughty lie...)

