Ekhart Tolle: A New Science For a New Earth?


I WANTED to have an open mind, REALLY.  But right away, on page 2 of Eckhart Tolle’s A New Earth: Awakening to Your Life’s Purpose, Tolle claims flowers played “an essential part in the evolution of (human) consciousness”. 

 

Tight Lips, Tight Waist, Show Elevated Consciousness


 

(From whence does he draw this remarkable conclusion?  He doesn’t say.)

Then, on page 3, he follows this with, “Any life-form in any realm–mineral, vegetable, animal, or human–can be said to undergo ‘enlightenment’.”

(Minerals are a life-form?  Show me mineral poop, mister.)

Continuing on to page 4, he adds:  “Since time immemorial, flowers, crystals, precious stones, and birds have held special significance for the human spirit.  Like all life forms…

((Crystals and stones are living?),

…they are, of course, temporary manifestations of the underlying one Life, one Consciousness.

(“Of course”.  Goes without saying).  

Their special significance and the reason why humans feel such affinity for them can be attributed to their ethereal quality.”

(Of course.)
๐Ÿ˜ˆ
(See what I did there? Anything may be attributed to anything you want.)

Rocks, Alive? Stones, Ethereal? Even I Think That's Stupid.


 
On page 7, we see a classic example of Cult-speak:  “This book is about you.  It will change your state of consciousness or it will be meaningless.  It can only awaken those who are ready.  Not everyone is ready yet…”

(Translation: Accept this book’s principles, or you are an immature outcast of the chosen elite.)

On page 20, in a description of the evolution of a land-dwelling creature rising from the sea, Tolle states the following:

“It would perhaps crawl a few inches at first, then, exhausted by the enormous gravitational pull of the planet, it would return to the water, where gravity is almost nonexistent…”

(Bizarro-me wonder:  “Why gravity-lite rivers and oceans no fly out into space?”)
 

 
But the real capper is found on page 22:
“If evil has any reality–and it has a relative, not an absolute, reality…”
 

Tolle's Portrayal of Evil: It's Solely a Matter of Contrasts


 
Okay, Tolle.  You keep telling yourself that.  Meanwhile, although you may have many vital data to impart, this reader has left the building.
 

WARNING:
LINK TO STRONG IMAGE OF
ACTUAL, NOT RELATIVE, EVIL

 

Leave a comment

9 Comments

  1. Great job at improving readability on this extremely unpopular post, Babe!

    Why, thank you so much! You didn’t do so badly yourself!

    ๐Ÿ˜€

    Like

    Reply
  2. “Not everyone is ready yet” reminds me so much of the tale of ‘The Emperor’s New Clothes’.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    • Oh! Oh! Bless you! Someone read this post! And had a perfect pertinent comment about it! Thank you! Yippee! I zipped over to your blog, ExPat, but couldn’t spot your name anywhere. Are you also a Pat?

      I am looking around my kitchen, at my KLM cottages, my Mollen and Familie embroidery, my wooden cookie mold, my copper-framed small painting of wooden-shoe shod children…I understand a fondness for things Dutch.
      ๐Ÿ˜Š

      Like

      Reply
      • Hilariously, I am literally ExPat, as my mother’s name is Patricia. Mine isn’t, though. My living room is awash with clogs and KLM cottages, there is a wooden cookie mould mouldering in the back of a cupboard somewhere and the colour orange has sneakily infiltrated my life. Mollen, hรจ? Would that make you a singular Moll, in Dutch a Mol, i.e. a mole? Answer carefully in case you blow your cover in the popular sleuthing reality show ‘Wie is de mol?’, or ‘Who’s the mole?’ Not forgetting the ‘it could only happen in Holland’ children’s picture book ‘Over een kleine mol die wil weten wie er op zijn kop gepoept heeft’ (‘About a little mole who wants to know who pooped on his head’) – such a catchy title! Watch the animated version here – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VuLMT0RSFhE (hope the link automagically converts). ‘Twas written by a German I now see, but I won’t let that spoil the fact that I saw it first in the Netherlands, so it will forever be a Dutch children’s book for me.

        Liked by 1 person

        Reply
        • Ha ha ha! Guess that extra l in molen made a molehill out of a fountain! (water pump, anyhow) That video, though–Talk about hilarious!! I love the way Moley keeps wearing his poop throughout–yuck! And of COURSE the book is German–those folks have a thing for poop humor–what is up with that? (A GF here is Bavarian, and I have a male friend from Munich.) Have to say, though, I think all children would LOVE it–kids also are fascinated by the subject. I cracked up entirely at the sound effects–such care was taken to match each one to the particular…style of deposit.

          The tale must be all the richer if one understands every word.

          Bless you twice, not-Pat. I’m going to forward the link to my German pals. I only know one Dutch person here, and ours is not the kind of relationship where I could write out-of-the-blue with “Found a fun video on poop to share ๐Ÿ™‚ !”

          You are fun, ExPat.

          P.S. I could never be a Dutch mole. I am too forgetful to keep secrets, and my Aspie-ness has a problem with too much orange (or yellow) near me. I couldn’t be regular Mole, either. I have the pointy face and small eyes, and enjoy dirt and digging and caves VERY much, but my nails break if I scratch the fuzz on a peach. Perhaps I could be Toad, instead. Me driving around in an old car yelling out “Poop-Poop!” would still fit in with our theme. Plus, then I would be RICH! Woo-hoo!!
          ๐Ÿ™‚

          Like

          Reply
          • And they say ADHD is a modern thing! The Wind in the Willows was published in 1908. The book happens to be on my bedside table (within reach as I’m sitting on my bed, hiding out from cat attack) because I have never read it and feel I ought to as it’s part of my heritage. How very serendipitty-ticious! Don’t you love being able to grab a book to look something up instead of just googling? That video is just the thing to cheer up a grey January morning, and with snow in t’ north, a salutary warning to car drivers. The Dutch have got the right idea, though (if this link works):

            Liked by 1 person

            Reply
            • That great a coincidence, plus your use of dipitty-ticious spelling, means we must be fated to be friends.
              ๐Ÿ™‚๐Ÿ™ƒ
              I hope you love the book as I did. But as for the happy, happy Dutch in their frozen, frozen world:

              Pth-th-th!!
              ๐Ÿ˜›
              My heart is glad for their (your ; ) gladness, even while I turn my thermostat to 75F/24C and hesitate to step outdoors when it is below 65/18C.

              I do have some fond memories of ice-skating, described in my Snowcaves post, but I’ve never been built for any weather that presents water in any of its frozen forms. I was able to tolerate watching that video only by imagining that all of the Netherlands had been miniaturized and trapped within a snowglobe. Charming.

              Oh, dear.
              I’m so sorry, my new possibly short-lived friend. My deep apologies. It turns out I am no better than the child who cannot resist turning the magnifying glass to the poor ant. Readying to shake the snowglobe… Now!
              ๐Ÿ˜ˆ

              Like

            • I can’t skate for toffee. I love the woman hanging on to dear life to a chair. This part of the country is just cold at the moment but has been unseasonably warm recently. I just went out in the garden and took some photos. One day, who knows, I might blog about my garden. But I’ll probably get distracted by something else shiny. I love the sidebars on your blog with the different subjects. I may have to do that with mine one day, if I ever post enough to make it worthwhile. I’ve been mooching around your blog and it’s inspiring me to get back and finish some of my own random posts. I can’t hope to aspire to your great levels of humour, but I think we could become great friends as we clearly both have minds that hop around like inebriated fleas. Obviously a sign of great intelligence.

              Liked by 1 person

            • “Great levels of humor”.
              ๐Ÿ˜Šโค๏ธ๐Ÿ˜Š

              I was only fair at skating backward. Today, trying in either direction would result in immediate horizontal reflection of my error.

              “That’s a(n)ice pun!” she boasted slickly.
              ๐Ÿ™„๐Ÿ˜„

              Funny you mention “inebriated”. I do drink rarely and lightly, and did not at all at the New Year, but, as a bedtime treat, since I’ve been a wee bit down, have put away a half-bottle of champagne each of the last two nights, with tremendous pleasure. Most certainly THAT was a sign of great intelligence. (As is not buying a second and third bottle…sigh.)

              Hopping off now : ) TTFN
              That’s the Flea News

              Liked by 1 person

Best comment wins prize! (sorry, i tell naughty lie...)

